The Memoirs are a uniquely detailed source for the history of the northern half of Ireland immediately before the Great Famine. They were written in the 1830s to accompany the 6" Ordnance Survey maps, but with one exception were not published at the time. In this new edition they act as a nineteenth-century Domesday book and are essential to the understanding of the cultural heritage of our communities. The Memoirs document the landscape and situation, buildings and antiquities, land-holdings and population, employment and livelihood of the parishes.
Ordnance Survey Memoirs of Ireland, Vol 8: Co. Antrim II, 1832-8, 1838-9 contains the Memoirs for 5 parishes on the southern border of Antrim, detailing the important town of Lisburn and including the areas of Lambeg, Drumbeg, Derryaghy and the village of Dunmurry in the immediate vicinity of Belfast. The material gives a fascinating and unique insight into life in this vibrant area over 150 years ago.
- Brief history of the Irish Ordnance Survey and Memoirs
- Definition of terms used
- Note on Memoirs of County Antrim
Parishes in County Antrim
- Blaris (Lisburn)
List of selected maps and drawings
- County Antrim, with parish boundaries
- County Antrim, 1837, by Samuel Lewis
- Ground plan of Castle Robin
- Ancient weapon from White Mountain
- Date stone at Milltown Lodge
List of O.S. maps, 1830s